BC Book Prizes

April 29, 2017
BC Book Prizes Gala
» Get Tickets

Stay in Touch

Sign up for Rebus Creative's
BC Book Prize email alerts:

For Email Marketing you can trust

Thank You, Sponsors


Gala tickets, award seals, other

BC Book Prizes
#901-207 W. Hastings Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 1H7
Tel (604) 687-2405
Fax (604) 687-2435

About BC Book Prizes

Board Members


Brian Burtch served as BC/Yukon regional representative for the Writers’ Union of Canada (1999-2001). He is a Professor of Criminology at SFU. His most recent book (co-authored with Rebecca Haskell) was Get That Freak: Homophobia and Transphobia in High Schools (Fernwood, 2010).


Shirley Lew has been a librarian for 15 years and is currently Director of the Library & Learning Centre at Vancouver Community College. Before librarianship, she worked in independent bookstores in Vancouver for almost a decade where she learned the art and joy of talking about books.


Vi Hughes (B.A., M.Ed.) is a former Vancouver elementary school principal, sessional instructor in reading at UBC, and Faculty Associate in Education at SFU. She has written several children’s books and is Past President of CWILL BC Society. She advocates for initiatives that support early literacy development.


Rob Taylor is the author of the poetry collection The Other Side of Ourselves (Cormorant Books, 2011) and four poetry chapbooks. He is the co-founder of One Ghana, One Voice, Ghana’s first poetry magazine, and one of the coordinators of Vancouver’s Dead Poets Reading Series. Find him online at roblucastaylor.com.


Michael Hayward (B.Sc., M.Pub.) has worked in IT Services for the University of British Columbia and for Simon Fraser University. He was one of the first graduates in SFU’s Master of Publishing program, and is also a Contributing Editor at Geist magazine.

Digby R. Leigh is a 32 year call lawyer whose firm (Digby Leigh & Company) is situated in Edgemont Village, North Vancouver. His practice is focused around helping people in business, a passion he extends to his work with the Young Entrepreneurs Symposium. Digby previously spent 10 years serving as the VP of Canada Basketball and currently sits on the board of the Thunderbird Football Association.

Editor-writer Frances Peck (MA, CPE Hon.) is a partner in the BC firm West Coast Editorial Associates. A long-time member and volunteer with Editors Canada, she teaches editing at Simon Fraser University and Douglas College and gives workshops across Canada. She’s a co-author of the HyperGrammar website and author of Peck’s English Pointers.

Kathryn Shoemaker (Ph.D.) is the illustrator/author of over forty children’s books and an adjunct professor at UBC. She was President of The Endeavour Society and The Canadian Mental Health Association, served on a range of non-profit boards including The Vancouver Writers Festival, and is the co-chair of the Vancouver Children’s Literature Roundtable.

Grant T. Smith has been a CPA for 15 years and is currently a Partner at Clearline Chartered Professional Accountants. He focuses mainly on building plans and implementing strategies for his clients so they can focus on things that matter most to them.  However, before his CPA years, Grant earned a Bachelor of Fine Arts at York University and worked as a production manager revitalizing theatre through-out Alberta and Ontario.


Executive Director
Rebus Creative | .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

General Manager
Rebus Creative | .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Communications Director
Rebus Creative | .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Project Coordinator
Rebus Creative | .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Join us Online


More of BC Book Prizes' photos