BC Book Prizes

Deadline January 31, 2018

Stay in Touch

Sign up for Rebus Creative's
BC Book Prize email alerts:

For Email Marketing you can trust

Thank You, Sponsors


Gala tickets, award seals, other

BC Book Prizes
#901-207 W. Hastings Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 1H7
Tel (604) 687-2405
Fax (604) 687-2435

News & Events

May 12, 2010

2010 Gala Speeches

With thanks to Sheryl MacKay from CBC’s North by Northwest and audio-recorder Adrien Sala, here are the speeches from the 2010 Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prizes Gala.

Shelagh Rogers, host of CBC Radio One’s The Next Chapter and MC for the evening, has some opening remarks:

Cathleen With, author of Having Faith in the Polar Girls’ Prison, won the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize. The prize was presented by three-time Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize winner, Audrey Thomas.
Audio clip coming soon. In the meantime, listen to Sheryl McKay’s North by Northwest CBC podcast from April 25 (mp3 link), the day after the Gala.

Lorna Crozier, author of Small Beneath the Sky: A Prairie Memoir, won the Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize. The prize was presented by author Harold Rhenisch.

Carrie Mac, author of The Gryphon Project, won the Sheila A Egoff Children’s Literature Prize. The prize was presented by author Sarah Harvey.

Andrew Scott, author of Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names: A Complete Reference to Coastal British Columbia, won the Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize. The prize was presented by author Katherine Gordon.

Fred Wah, author of is a door, won the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize. The prize was presented by Irene Lanzinger, president of the BC Teachers’ Federation.

Freida Wishinsky and Dean Griffiths, author and illustrator of Maggie Can’t Wait, won the Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize. The prize was presented by author Sheryl McFarlane. Dean Griffiths accepted the award and spoke how the illustrations and message of the book touched him after his experiences with his daughter, Holly.

Brian Brett and Greystone Books, author and publisher of Trauma Farm: A Rebel History of Rural Life, won the Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award. The prize was presented by Bill Duthie’s daughter, Cathy Legate.

Our MC Shelagh Rogers has some closing statements:


Posted by Monica Miller | Filed under: | Permalink

« Back to News

Upcoming Events

Join us Online