BC Book Prizes

March 12, 2018

Stay in Touch

Sign up for Rebus Creative's
BC Book Prize email alerts:

For Email Marketing you can trust

Thank You, Sponsors


Gala tickets, award seals, other

BC Book Prizes
#901-207 W. Hastings Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 1H7
Tel (604) 687-2405
Fax (604) 687-2435

News & Events

May 08, 2013

BC Book Prizes 2013 Winners Announced

The West Coast Book Prize Society is pleased to announce the names of the winners of the 29th Annual BC Book Prizes.

Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize awarded to the author of the best work of fiction:
Supported by Friesens and Webcom

Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize to recognize the author(s) of the book that contributes most to the enjoyment and understanding of British Columbia:
Supported by Marquis

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize awarded to the author of the best original non-fiction literary work:
Supported by AbeBooks, Victoria Bindery, and First Choice Books

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize awarded to the author of the best work of poetry:
Supported by the BC Teachers’ Federation

Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize presented to the best illustrated book written for children:
Supported by Kate Walker and Ampersand Inc.

Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize awarded to the best non-illustrated book written for children:
Supported by the BC Library Association

Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award presented to the originating publisher and author(s) of the best book in terms of public appeal, initiative, design, production and content:
Supported by the BC Booksellers Association

Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence: Lorna Crozier and Sarah Ellis are the recipients of this award established in 2003 by the Honourable Iona Campagnolo, which recognizes British Columbia writers who have contributed to the development of literary excellence in the province.

A total of $24,000 is awarded to winners with each prize providing $2,000 with the exception of the Lieutenant Governor’s prize which awards $5,000 (the two recipients will each receive $5,000). This year’s gala, hosted by Grant Lawrence and attended by British Columbia’s Lieutenant Governor, the Honourable Judith Guichon, OBC, took place at Government House in Victoria May 4, 2013.

The BC Book Prizes were established in 1985 to celebrate the achievements of British Columbia writers and publishers. The prizes are administered and awarded by a non-profit society that represents all facets of the publishing and writing community. The West Coast Book Prize Society congratulates all of the winners!

Posted by Kristie Cropley | Filed under: Announcements, Press Releases | Permalink

« Back to News

Upcoming Events

Join us Online