BC Book Prizes

March 12, 2018

Stay in Touch

Sign up for Rebus Creative's
BC Book Prize email alerts:

For Email Marketing you can trust

Thank You, Sponsors


Gala tickets, award seals, other

BC Book Prizes
#901-207 W. Hastings Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 1H7
Tel (604) 687-2405
Fax (604) 687-2435

News & Events

April 11, 2013

Lorna Crozier & Sarah Ellis Recipients of 2013 Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence

The West Coast Book Prize Society is proud to recognize Lorna Crozier and Sarah Ellis as co-recipients of the 10th annual Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence. British Columbia’s Lieutenant Governor, The Honourable Judith Guichon, OBC, will present the award at the Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prizes Gala to be held at Government House on Saturday May 4, 2013 in Victoria. The event will be hosted by author, broadcaster, and performer, Grant Lawrence.

The jury for this year’s Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence was: Brian Brett, author and 2012 recipient of the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence; Lynn Copeland, former Dean of Library Services at Simon Fraser University; and, Alma Lee, founder of the Vancouver International Writers and Readers Festival.

“The committee for the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence quickly agreed that among many strong candidates, two were outstanding – and as quickly agreed there were no grounds to choose between these two most deserving giants in their field. Both are prolific, both are recipients of numerous awards, both are passionate advocates for their literary genre and for Canadian writing, both are internationally recognized, both tirelessly mentor their literary children, and both bring the strength of oral tradition to their writing. … Both bring the highest honour to the Lieutentant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence.” – jury

This prize was established in 2003 by former Lieutenant Governor, the Honourable Iona Campagnolo, to recognize British Columbia writers who have contributed to the development of literary excellence in the province. The recipient receives a cash award of $5,000 and a commemorative certificate. The 2012 recipient was Brian Brett.

Click here for more information on Lorna and Sarah.

Posted by Kristie Cropley | Filed under: Announcements | Permalink

« Back to News

Upcoming Events

Join us Online