BC Book Prizes

Deadline January 31, 2018

Stay in Touch

Sign up for Rebus Creative's
BC Book Prize email alerts:

For Email Marketing you can trust

Thank You, Sponsors


Gala tickets, award seals, other

BC Book Prizes
#901-207 W. Hastings Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 1H7
Tel (604) 687-2405
Fax (604) 687-2435

News & Events

April 02, 2010

Download 2010 BC Book Prize materials

This promotional material is available for anyone to download and help us promote the BC Book Prizes 2010.

For any of the PDFs, please email Monica at monica[at]rebuscreative.com as they are too large to upload here. Thank you!

March 31, 2010

Chapters/Indigo promotion April 5 - May 9, 2010

Visit any BC Chapters, Indigo, or Coles store between April 5 and May 9,2010 to receive 10% on BC Book Prize 2010 finalist titles. After the winners are announced on Saturday, April 24, you can save 20% on any winning title.

Posted by Monica Miller | Filed under: Announcements | Permalink

November 03, 2009

More Congratulations for Lee Henderson

Lee Henderson’s novel The Man Game has won the 2009 Vancouver Book Award. Earlier this year Lee Henderson won the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize for The Man Game. The award was presented this afternoon at City Hall.

The finalists for the 2009 award also included Gabor Maté, who won the Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize for In The Realm of Hungry Ghosts, and Meredith Quartermain for Nightmarker.

Posted by Monica Miller | Filed under: Announcements | Permalink

June 10, 2009

June Monthly Book Draw

Congratulations Margrit Garzitto from Surrey, BC. She is the proud new owner of a copy of Dry Spring: The Coming Water Crisis of North America by Chris Wood.

To enter our Monthly Draws for BC books, simply join our mailing list on the sidebar (left).

Posted by Monica Miller | Filed under: Announcements | Permalink

June 02, 2009

Elise Partridge and Stephen Bown Up for CAA Literary Awards

Congratulations are in order for Stephen Bown and Elise Partridge!

Bown’s BC Bookseller’s Choice award-winning book, Madness, Betrayal and the Lash: The Epic Voyage of Captain George Vancouver, has been nominated for the CAA/Lela Common Award for Canadian History by the Canadian Author Association Literary Awards. Chameleon Hours,  Partridge’s Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize norminated collection is nominated for the CAA Award for Poetry.

Winners will be announced June 6th in Toronto. Congratulations and best of luck to these two great BC books and writers!

Posted by Martha Carscadden | Filed under: Announcements | Permalink

April 30, 2009

Congratulations Brad Cran, Vancouver’s new Poet Laureate

Our congratulations to Vancouver’s second Poet Laureate, Brad Cran. While we are sad to say goodbye to Vancouver’s inaugural Poet Laureate, George McWhirter, we are excited to see what Brad Cran will be championing during his honourary two-year term.

The Poet Laureate Program is a partnership of the City of Vancouver, Vancouver Public Library and the Vancouver International Writers & Readers Festival.

Posted by Monica Miller | Filed under: Announcements | Permalink

April 26, 2009

Congratulations to the Winners of the 25th Annual BC Book Prizes

Congratulations to the winners of the 25th annual BC Book Prizes:

  • Lee Henderson, The Man Game
  • Daphne Marlatt, The Given
  • Gabor Maté, In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts: Close Encounters with Addiction
  • Stephen Hume, Simon Fraser: In Search of Modern British Columbia
  • Katarina Jovanovic & Philippe Béha, The King Has Goat Ears
  • Polly Horvath, My One Hundred Adventures
  • Stephen R. Bown and Douglas & McIntyre, Madness, Betrayal and the Lash: The Epic Voyage of Captain George Vancouver

Visit our 2009 Prizes page for details on all the titles that were recognized this year.

Posted by Monica Miller | Filed under: Announcements | Permalink

April 23, 2009

Congratulations to the CBA Libris Award Shortlist

The Canadian Booksellers Association celebrates the “Best in the Business”, and the Libris Awards are voted on by members of the book industry. The Shortlist was announced April 22, and the winners will be announced on June 20, 2009. We’d like to extend our congratulations to all those shortlisted for the 2009 awards, especially those representing BC!

  • Steven Galloway’s novel, The Cellist of Sarajevo (Knopf Canada) is up for Fiction Book of the Year
  • Andrew Nikiforuk’s book, Tar Sands: Dirty Oil and the Future of a Continent (Greystone Books) is up for the Non-Fiction Book of the Year
  • UBC Bookstore in Vancouver is shortlisted for the Campus Bookseller of the Year
  • Raincoast Books / Book Express, located in Vancouver, are up for Distributor of the Year
  • Two Vancouver bookstores are up for Specialty Bookseller of the Year: Little Sister’s Book & Art Emporium and Vancouver Kidsbooks
  • Talonbooks, located in Vancouver, is up for Small Press Publisher of the Year

Congratulations everyone!

Posted by Monica Miller | Filed under: Announcements | Permalink

April 18, 2009

Terry Glavin receives the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence

The Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence was established in 2003 by the Honourable Iona Campagnolo. It is meant to recognize British Columbia writers who have contributed to the development of literary excellence in the Province.

Our formal congratulations to author, journalist. editor, and educator, Terry Glavin for your amazing contributions to BC culture. He has “an extraordinarily holistic vision that … shows us a world where culture and nature, human aspiration, natural beauty, language, history and social justice are inextricably intertwined.” according to this year’s jury members.

Terry Glavin lives in Victoria and is an adjunct professor of creative writing at the University of British Columbia. His most recent book is Waiting for the Macaws and Other Stories from the Age of Extinctions and he is very well known for his Transmontanus Series with New Star Books. Terry Glavin is a frequent contributor to various newspapers and magazines, and his column for The Tyee, Dissent, appears twice monthly.

» Read what the 2009 jury had to say about Terry’s contribution to BC.

Posted by Monica Miller | Filed under: Announcements | Permalink

April 13, 2009

Northern Tour Kicks Off

Bryan Pike, Executive Director here at BC Book Prizes met four BC Book Prize finalists at the airport today. Margaret Horsfield, Katarina Jovanovic, Elise Partridge, and Robin Stevenson join Bryan on tour in Northern BC. Check out the full tour schedule here.

Posted by Monica Miller | Filed under: Announcements | Permalink

Page 4 of 6 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 6 >

Upcoming Events

Join us Online