2018 BC Book Prizes Winners Revealed

The winners of this year’s BC Book Prizes were announced at the 34th annual BC Book Prizes Gala on May 4 at the Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront in downtown Vancouver.

Brother by David Chariandy (McClelland & Stewart) – Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize

Zero Repeat Forever by G. S. Prendergast (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers) – Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize

On Island: Life Among the Coast Dwellers by Pat Carney (TouchWood Editions) – Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award

Prison Industrial Complex Explodes by Mercedes Eng (Talonbooks) – Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize

The Reconciliation Manifesto: Recovering the Land, Rebuilding the Economy by Arthur Manuel and Grand Chief Ronald Derrickson (James Lorimer and Company Ltd., Publishers) – Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize

The Nameless City: The Stone Heart by Faith Erin Hicks (First Second) – Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize

Changing Tides: Vanishing Voices of Nikkei Fishermen and Their Families by Kotaro Hayashi, Fumio “Frank” Kanno, Henry Tanaka, and Jim Tanaka (editors) (Nikkei National Museum & Cultural Centre) – Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize

Congratulations to all the nominated authors, illustrators, and publishers! See all the 2018 winners and finalists here.

One thought on “2018 BC Book Prizes Winners Revealed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *